Acesa Membership


Membership of ACESA is open to chief executives of organisations that fulfill the following criteria


  • 1. The Agency is a public benefit entity that is established by statute or otherwise to perform public functions

  • 2. The Agency derives a large portion of its current revenue from the Exchequer or a Departmental budget

  • 3. The Agency is not an explicitly commercial body involved in the trading or sale of goods and services

  • 4. The Agency has a national remit

  • 5. The Agency is organisationally distinct from its parent Department

  • 6. The Agency has some discretion over personnel and financial resources

  • 7. The Agency has sufficient autonomy over decision-making in its policy field(s) to render it as a distinct entity within the State apparatus

  • 8. The Agency has an expectation of continued existence




Ireland's Public Service: Towards 2030 and Beyond - ACESA Conference 2022

Strand Hotel, Limerick

Thursday 6th and Friday 7th October 2022

Examining the theme of ‘Ireland’s Public Service, Towards 2030 and Beyond’, the conference will take place from the morning of Thursday 6th October, finishing at lunchtime Friday 7th October 2022 at The Strand Hotel in Limerick.

The conference will allow us the  to explore many of the significant challenges Ireland will face in the coming years, and how we can innovate and collaborate as government agencies to provide solutions in the areas of climate action, sustainability, the future of work and other topics which you identify through ACESA events and consultations.


A limited number of places are available for non members. To apply, email:

Further details of the conference including guest speakers and panels will be announced in the coming months and this page will be updated.


Current Members of ACESA

Abbey Theatre
Mark O'Brien
Adoption Authority of Ireland
Patricia Carey
An Coimisineir Teanga
Rónán Ó Domhnaill
An Comhairle um Oideachas Gaeltachta agus Gaelscolaiochta
Muireann Ní Mhóráin
Approved Housing Bodies Regulatory Authority
Susanna Lyons
The Arts Council
Maureen Kennelly
Bord Iascaigh Mhara
Jim O'Toole
Broadcasting Authority of Ireland
Celine Craig
Charities Regulatory Authority
Helen Martin
Chester Beatty
Fionnuala Croke
Citizens Information Board
Fiona Coyne
Commission for Aviation Regulation
Cathy Mannion
Commission for Communications Regulation
Garrett Blaney
Commission for Railway Regulation
Brian Higgisson
Commission for Regulation of Utilities
Aoife MacEvilly
Commissioners of Irish Lights
Yvonne Shields
Competition and Consumer Protection Commission
Isolde Goggin
Ginny Hanrahan
The Courts Service of Ireland
Angela Denning
The Dental Council of Ireland
David O'Flynn
Design and Crafts Council of Ireland
Rosemary Steen
Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies
Eucharia Meehan
Economic and Social Research Institute
Alan Barrett
Education and Training Boards Ireland
Paddy Lavelle
Environmental Protection Agency
Laura Burke
Failte Ireland
Paul Kelly
Financial Services and Pensions Ombudsman
Ger Deering
Food Safety Authority of Ireland
Pamela Byrne
Forensic Science Ireland
Chris Enright
Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission
Aileen Healy
Grangegorman Development Agency
Ger Casey
Health and Safety Authority
Sharon McGuinness
Health Insurance Authority
Laura Brien
Health Products Regulatory Authority
Lorraine Nolan
Health Research Board
Mairéad O'Driscoll
Heritage Council
Virginia Teehan
Higher Education Authority
Alan Wall
Angela Fitzgerald
Housing Agency
Bob Jordan
Housing Finance Agency
Barry O’Leary
Inland Fisheries Ireland
Francis O'Donnell
Insolvency Service of Ireland
Michael D McNaughton
Institute of Public Administration
Marian O'Sullivan
International Protection Appeals Tribunal
Hilkka Becker
Irish Auditing and Accounting Supervisory Authority
Kevin Prendergast
Irish Blood Transfusion Service
Orla O'Brien
Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission
Laurence Bond
Irish Museum of Modern Art
Annie Fletcher
Irish Prison Service
Caron McCaffrey
Law Reform Commission
Raymond Byrne
Legal Aid Board
John McDaid
Legal Services Regulatory Authority
Brian Doherty
Local Government Management Agency
Paul Dunne
Marine Institute
Paul Connolly
Medical Council
Leo Kearns
Mental Health Commission
John J Farrelly
National Council for Curriculum and Assessment
Arlene Forster
National Council for Special Education
John Kearney
National Disability Authority
Dr Aideen Hartney
National Gallery of Ireland
Sean Rainbird
National Library of Ireland
Sandra Collins
National Museum of Ireland
Lynn Scarff
National Oil Reserves Agency
Pat Meehan
National Shared Services Office
Hilary Murphy-Fagan
National Standards Authority of Ireland
Geraldine Larkin
National Transport Authority
Anne Graham
Nursing & Midwifery Board of Ireland
Sheila McClelland
Oberstown Children Detention Campus
Damien Hernon
Office of the Inspector of Prisons
Patricia Gilheaney
Office of the Ombudsman
Elaine Cassidy
Office of the Planning Regulator
Niall Cussen
Office of the Regulator of the National Lottery
Carol Boate
Ordnance Survey Ireland
Colin Bray
Parole Board
Ciairín de Buis
Personal Injuries Assessment Board
Rosalind Carroll
The Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland
Niall Byrne
Anna Shakespeare
Policing Authority
Helen Hall
Pre Hospital Emergency Care Council
Richard Lodge
Private Security Authority
Paul Scallan
Probation Service
Mark Wilson
Property Registration Authority
Liz Pope
Property Services Regulatory Authority
Maeve Hogan
Quality and Qualifications Ireland
Padraig Walsh
Residential Tenancies Board
Niall Byrne
Road Safety Authority
Sam Waide
Ray Dolan
Sea Fisheries Protection Authority
Paschal Hayes
Paul Healy
Andrew Brownlee
Special EU Programmes Body
Gina McIntyre
Sport Ireland
Una May
State Examinations Commission
Andrea Feeney
State Laboratory
Ita Kinahan
Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland
William Walsh
Teaching Council
Tomás Ó Ruairc
Frank O'Mara
Tourism Ireland
Niall Gibbons
Transport Infrastructure Ireland
Peter Walsh
Veterinary Council of Ireland
Niamh Muldoon
Water Safety Ireland
John Leech
Waterways Ireland
John McDonagh
Western Development Commission
Tomas O Siochain